Y is for Yesterday

I didn’t pick up my laptop yesterday. Or the day before that. Or the day before that. Or the week before that. Or the month before that. On the 4th of May I took a positive pregnancy test. Anybody who has been following my blog knows I have tried to get pregnant for years and it’s been a hard journey. As soon as I sat there with the positive pregnancy test, everything else went out the window. Nothing else mattered.

I was suspended from work in mid-September (they’re suspending pregnant workers in Sweden because of risks with Covid for people who can’t work from home or who have risky jobs). For the first weeks I was just enjoying being home. Preparing. Resting. I joined a pregnancy swimming group. Took walks. Finished playing God of War and started a new legacy run on Sims 4. And then…

This morning I was on Instagram and I saw a post on NaNoWriMo and then I started thinking… Back in my regular Tumblr days, when I was a student, before I had published anything, NaNoWriMo was huge. And I usually tried to participate, writing long fanfictions about Mass Effect and Dragon Age. Then I grew up, started working and became a published author. And I never participated in NaNoWriMo again.

It’s November in a few days. I’m not really prepared for NaNoWriMo, not with the sequel for Bittersweet and Sparrow that needs a lot of preparations but I took up my laptop and I’m in full author mode. So that is my big update, I’m trying to do NaNoWriMo, not through the site but independently and tracking my possible progress on Instagram. I’m however seven months pregnant so no promises, both baby and body are fickle and some days I feel crap. But I’m so glad to have the creative juices flowing again.

I talked to my sister-in-law who is a writer with a Tumblr but who had no idea what NaNoWriMo even is. She is six years younger than me, so I feel like there is a generational gap between us when it comes to Tumblr culture. However, I couldn’t believe that she doesn’t know what it is… at all.

How about you guys? You who are reading this, are you doing NaNoWriMo? Do you know what it is?

Leave a comment