Never Break a Leg Before Christmas part 5

 Nonnie closed the door after paying the babysitter and sending her through it. She sucked in a shaky breath as she returned to the living room where Nicole was waiting for her.

 The doctor was sitting casually on the sofa with a lazy look in her face. She had never looked better, managing to somehow look cocky and hopeful in the same time. The top buttons of her shirt were undone, revealing her olive skin. Nonnie wanted to press her lips to that exposed triangle of skin.

“How soundly does Anthony sleep? Will he wake up?” Nicole looked so embarrassed for asking the question that Nonnie giggled. Nicole was just too cute.

“He can usually sleep through anything.” She held out her hand and waited until Nicole took it. She pulled her to her feet. “Not to sound crass but do you want to see my bedroom?” She winked.

Nicole laughed softly and nodded.

Their hands entwined as they left the living room and walked through the dark corridor that led to Nonnie’s bedroom. Nonnie had to stop her instinctive need to check in on Anthony, reminding herself that if he needed her, he would yell. She also really didn’t want to risk waking him up. Not tonight.

They went into her bedroom and she closed the door carefully behind them. She turned around and faced Nicole. The look in those pale blue eyes sent shivers down her spine. There was no way she could wait any longer.

She made it to her side in two quick strides and threw her arms around Nicole’s neck.

“I feel like I’ve wanted you forever.” She kissed her. Deeply, hungrily. Didn’t let her rest.

Nonnie loved playing with her partner, changing the pace continuously. She had almost forgotten how much fun it was to dance this way. To make her partner tremble with wanting. Nothing else made Nonnie feel as powerful or wanted and the fact that it was Nicole clutching at her waist and breathing hard made the dance that much sweeter.

“You’re driving me insane,” Nicole whispered when they caught their breath.

“I know.” Nonnie fought against the will to laugh out loud. She felt so happy. “That’s the point.”

She put her hand on Nicole’s breast, even through the material of her shirt her heart beat against Nonnie’s fingertips. Nicole was trembling and there was a flush spreading across her cheeks. She was starting to look more overwhelmed than aroused and Nonne took a step back.

“You okay?” She let her hand fall from Nicole’s breast and instead grabbed her hand. “You look a little bit overwhelmed.”

“It’s just been a while.”

It was endearing to see the usually confident doctor look positively shy and Nonnie wanted to kiss her all over. But most of all she wanted to comfort her. Reassure her.

“We don’t need to do anything you don’t want to, you know that right?” It was important that Nicole knew, even if Nonnie was praying with every heartbeat. Please, don’t tell me she needs a –

“Of course I know that.” Nicole blinked and the unsure look in her eyes disappeared. “Now come here.”

It was Nonnie’s turn to be played with. Nicole kissed her deeply and held her, their bodies pressed together hard. Nicole’s body was the perfect mix between lean and soft and Nonnie couldn’t wait to have her naked. She couldn’t wait anymore. She started undoing the buttons on Nicole’s shirt.

As soon as the first button came undone, something seemed to happen with Nicole. She groaned deep in her throat and she clawed at Nonnie’s dress.

“I need to get this off you, I can’t -”

“Mommy?”

They both froze at the sound of Anthony’s voice coming from the other side of the closed door, Nicole’s face turning bright red.

“What should we do?” She whispered.

She looked so scared Nonnie couldn’t resist pressing a quick kiss to her nose.

“Relax, just straighten your clothes a little.” Nonnie fixed her dress and pulled a hand through her hair. She knew that there was nothing to do about her flushed face though. At least Anthony was still young so she doubted he would suspect anything.

With her heart still beating erratically, Nonnie smiled apologetically at Nicole and then went to open the door. She found a tear-faced Anthony on the other side, looking much younger than her usually tough boy.

“What is it baby?” She opened her arms and he stepped forward, pressing his face into her belly.

“I had a bad dream.”

“Oh no,” she cooed and turned her head to throw another apologetic look Nicole’s way.

Nicole just shrugged her shoulders with a smile on her face as if to say that it was no problem.

“Anthony,” Nonnie said gently. “There is someone I want you to meet.”

Anthony looked up and Nonnie wiped his face with her thumb. Her little boy, who was growing up too fast and somehow not fast enough at the same time. She let go of the embrace but kept one arm around his shoulders as she spun them around and looked at Nicole.

“This is my good friend Nicole.” She pressed a kiss to the top of Anthony’s head. “Nicole, this is my son, Anthony.”

Nicole smiled gently and held out her hand to Anthony. Nonnie watched as they shook hands. There was something cathartic about seeing the people that meant the most to her meet.

“Nice to meet you,” Nicole said. “Too bad about the dream though.”

“It’s okay.” As soon as Anthony had seen it was more than Nonnie there he had put on a brave face. “What are you doing in here? Isn’t it night?”

“We’re… having a slumber party.” Nonnie smiled sheepishly at Nicole, a blush spreading on her cheeks.

“Girls in my school have slumber parties all the time. We boys aren’t allowed.”

“Well, boys aren’t usually allowed.” Nicole got down on his level. “But I’m quite sure we can make an exception for you.”

“Really?” Anthony sounded happy. “Does that mean we can -” He yawned, “watch a movie?”

“It’s time to go to bed, young man, probably for all of us. We’re going to the zoo tomorrow.”

 To Nonnie’s relief Anthony let himself be led back to his bedroom and didn’t complain as she patted his mattress.

“Fine.” He lay down and Nonnie pulled the covers up to his chin. “Is Nicole coming with us tomorrow?”

“I think so, honey.” Nonnie thought carefully about what words to use. “But she works as a doctor and sometimes she gets called in to work on her free days too.”

“That’s boring.” Anthony’s eyes fell closed. “When I grow up I’m going to have a job that lets me be free every day.”

Nonnie chuckled softly and pressed a kiss to his forehead. Then she got up and tiptoed from the room.

She found Nicole sitting on her bed, looking absolutely delicious with the top of her shirt unbuttoned. She closed the door behind her.

 “I’m so sorry,” she said in a low voice. “I didn’t think he would wake up.”

“Please, don’t worry about it. Despite not meeting him before, I was aware that you had a kid, you know?” Nicole’s smile was reassuring but Nonnie was still worried.

 She sat down next to Nicole.

“I don’t date a lot, you know? It’s nights like this I’m reminded why.”

“Because of the interruption?” Nicole looked sympathetic but curious.  

Nonnie sighed.

“I haven’t really found a woman who understands that Anthony always comes first. I don’t want to go away for a week and leave him behind. I don’t want to spend a lot of money on something for myself or for her. If he is ill, I’ll be by his side and…” She sighed again. “Sometimes I blame my age. Most people my age are still in that partying stage and I don’t fault them for not understanding. I just…” She glanced at Nicole, feeling her cheeks heat up. “I feel embarrassed.”

 “There is nothing to be embarrassed about.”

 “But I want…” Nonnie bit her lip, thrilled at how Nicole’s gaze immediately zoned in on her mouth. “When I’m with you, especially in my bedroom, I want to feel… desirable. I want to feel young and free and sexy and when my child interrupts us, all of that goes away. I feel like a mom, and that’s not…” Sexy. Nonnie had never put her thoughts into such frank words before, she was almost surprised to hear herself say them.

“I think you’re remarkable.” Nicole’s voice was slightly husky. “You’re not just… beautiful, sexy and all of that. But knowing your heart, that you’re a mom and you fight hard to be a good mom after a hard life… Nonnie, that just makes you even more desirable. You’re… amazing.”

“Stop it.” Nonnie chuckled and put her hands up  to cover her blazing cheeks. Nobody had ever spoken about her that way and she was unsure of what to say. “You’ve made me all embarrassed now.”

“That wasn’t my intention.” Nicole bumped her shoulder playfully. “And I’ve told you before how much I work. I don’t have that much free time and the time I do have I don’t want to… I don’t want to say waste, but… I’m unwilling to use my free time to get completely drunk, or go to a party where I don’t know anyone. I’m no longer in the mood to lose myself. I want to find myself.”

Nonnie leaned her head on Nicole’s shoulder.

“What is this then? Are we girlfriends because nobody else understands what it’s like to be an adult and have other responsibilities?” Her question wasn’t asked out of bitterness but rather a wish to know what Nicole thought and felt.

“No, that’s not why we’re girlfriends.” Nicole chuckled and put a finger under Nonnie’s chin, turning her until they were facing each other. “We’re girlfriends because we like each other. We’re girlfriends because you’re adorably sexy and because I’m gorgeous, naturally.” She winked and Nonnie laughed.

“Is that so?” Her gaze fell on Nicole’s lips. “I want to kiss you again. I want to kiss you and not stop until the sun goes up.

“I want that too,” Nicole said. “I really do.”

“But?” Nonnie pulled back a bit, staring into Nicole’s face, almost dreading what she was going to say.

“I want to sleep next to you, in your bed, and we can kiss a bit before sleeping, but I’d rather not do anything more tonight. Anthony…”

 Nonnie closed her eyes and sighed.

“You’re probably right.” She opened one eye and stuck her tongue out. “But you promise we can kiss for a bit?”

“Yes.” Nicole came closer. “I promise.”

Their lips met again and they kissed each other slowly, deeply. There was no need to hurry, after all they had all night.

 

* * *

 

Nicole woke up in the early hours of the morning. For a moment she hardly knew where she was but then she noticed a small hand in her own and the sound of soft inhales and exhales barely an inch or two from her own ear.  Nonnie’s face was different in sleep. Less cheeky and calculating. More relaxed. Nicole wanted to run her fingers through Nonnie’s hair but didn’t want to risk waking her.

She turned on her side and regarded her girlfriend. Nicole smiled to herself. Girlfriend. Such a novel word.

 

Leave a Reply

